Matinum

Taking Charge of Your Health


Hey everyone welcome back to another edition
of Ask the ND, I am Dr. Jeremy Wolf. I always find it amusing when I go to the grocery store
and see signs for gluten free apples, peanuts and other foods that are naturally gluten
free. With the all the buzz around the word, gluten has become more of marketing tool & diet
fad then a health concern. In today’s society almost everyone has heard of the term Gluten,
but a lot of people don’t necessarily know what it is. In this episode of Ask the ND
I am going to break down what gluten is why you might consider avoiding it and tips on
how to go gluten free. Gluten is the general name for the proteins found in grains like
wheat’s, Farro, Kamut, Spelt, barley and rye. Other gluten containing grains include
bulgur, durum, einkorn, and oats, which although are naturally gluten free often times are
processed in plants with gluten containing grains and may become cross-contaminated.
Some less common foods that contain wheat or gluten that you must consider for removal
include some binders and fillers, certain type of alcohol, couscous, orzo, seasonings,
salad dressings, soup bases, processed deli meats, soy sauce & hydrolyzed vegetable protein.
During digestion our body breaks down the two main groups of proteins of gluten into
smaller units. If you are person with celiac disease or a wheat allergy, your body’s
immune system actually reacts to these proteins in the intestinal mucosa. This process can
cause damage to the intestinal lining making it difficult to absorb nutrients which can
lead to other problems. However, besides a wheat allergy and celiac disease other individuals
experience symptoms when eating gluten containing products known as gluten sensitivity. While
there are many alternatives you can use for baking and other cooking preparations we are
going to look at just some of the common ones. Here’s the rundown. Cultivated by the Aztecs
over 8,000 years ago this grain is similar to oats. It has a rich nutty flavor profile
is high in protein, fiber, minerals and B vitamins. This grain can be a great thickener
for sauces, soups, stews and even jellies. Quinoa is not technically a cereal grain but
is instead called a pseudo-cereal similar to buckwheat. Quinoa contains some of the
highest quality protein compared to any other grain or cereal because it has all 9 essential
amino acids. But that’s not all; its also is packed with fiber, iron, magnesium folate
and heart-healthy omega 3 fatty acids. Quinoa can be used as a thickener for soups, chili
and stews. It can also be a great side to any main course. Chia seeds are a member of
the Salvia hispanica family. These seeds come in black or white both of which are a great
source of protein, fiber, minerals vitamins & antioxidants. But that’s not it; they
also have a high concentration of plant based omega 3 fatty acids Alpha linolenic acid.
You can sprinkle the seeds on gluten free cereals, yogurt or salads. It can also be
added to smoothies and used for puddings. Sorghum is a tall growing cereal grain similar
to corn. There are over 30 species of sorghum but only one is harvested for human consumption.
It is high in protein, phosphorus, potassium fiber, niacin, iron and B6. It is commonly
used for the production of sorghum molasses, syrup and in the production of alcoholic beverages.
But it can also be used in cereals, granola bars, snack foods and baked products. Millet
is an ancient grain from the Far East. It was first farmed nearly 10,000 years ago and
it is revered as one of the five sacred crops of China. Millet is 100% a whole grain and
a good source of protein, fiber as well as vitamins and minerals. Millet has a mild,
sweet flavor and quick cooking time. It can be served alone or turned into a flour to
be used for baking. Although commonly included in the lists of grain, Buckwheat is not a
grain. It is a seed from a plant related to greens like rhubarb. Buckwheat is rich in
trace minerals like manganese, magnesium and copper. It is also a good source of vitamins,
fiber as well as quercetin and other bioflavonoids. Buckwheat is great when seasoned and served
as a side dish but also is great when added as a thickener to stews or soups. What to
look for when avoiding gluten. Gluten free foods may be labeled in a variety of ways.
Gluten Free, Free of Gluten, Without Gluten and No Gluten. FDA now enforces the labeling
of these 4 variations, which means there must be an unavoidable presence of gluten that
is below 20ppm. Avoid products labeled “No gluten-containing ingredients” as companies
may use this term without testing for the presence of gluten in their products. Additionally
gluten may be found in a number of cosmetics, vitamins and some pharmaceutical medications.
So When avoiding any food, the most important thing to do is to read the entire ingredient
label, look for any allergen warnings and educate yourself about the products you are
taking. Thank you for watching another edition of ask the ND. Make sure to subscribe to our
YouTube channel for weekly tips to help you on your journey towards happy wellness. From
all us here at LuckyVitamin spread the wellness.

One thought on “Gluten Free Living | Ask the ND with Dr. Jeremy Wolf

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *